Close search

Tom Abell enjoyed a night to remember at the annual SCCC End of Season Awards Dinner.

The Club Captain secured a hat trick of trophies yesterday evening after being named Somerset Player of the Season, County Championship Player of the Year and Supporters’ Player of the Year.

The evening was officially opened by CEO Gordon Hollins and Chair Sir Michael Barber, who thanked those in attendance for their continued support.

Director of Cricket, Andy Hurry then made presentations to James Hildreth, Max Waller, Ollie Sale, Marchant de Lange and Steve Kirby who will all be leaving the Club this winter. The DOC then gave a brief overview of the 2022 campaign and outlined his hopes for the future.

The first award of the evening, the Champagne Moment Award, was won by Roelof van der Merwe for his sensational Vitality Blast innings against Gloucestershire at Bristol. Although currently away on international duty with The Netherlands, Roelof sent a video acceptance message which was played to those in attendance.

Sonny Baker was then presented with the Community Player of the Year Award by Mark Crossley from Michael Spiers for his outstanding work with the Somerset Cricket Foundation in 2022.

Richard Brice of Somerset County Sports then presented the Somerset Women’s Young Player of the Year Award. This was won by Nat Wraith and the trophy was collected on her behalf by teammate Lorraine Szczepanski.

Daisy Jeanes was then announced as the winner of the Somerset Women’s Players Player of the Year and she collected her award from Mark Southern of WPA Health Insurance.

Head of the Talent Pathway, Matt Drakeley was then joined on stage by Paul Malloy of Bradfords Building Supplies to present the Tom Pearce Award for the Young Player of the Year to James Rew.

Peter Trego then conducted an entertaining interview with James Hildreth and Max Waller which saw the trio discuss the highlights of their long and outstanding careers.

Tom Abell was presented with his first award of the evening when he received the Supporters’ Player of the Year trophy from Matthew Hartigan from Higos.

Trade Nation’s Emma Stacey was on hand to present Ben Green with the White-Ball Player of the Year Award. Ben beat off competition from Rilee Rossouw, Roelof van der Merwe and James Rew to scoop the award.

Tom Abell then lifted the County Championship Player of the Year Award. The other nominations were: Matt Renshaw, Peter Siddle, Craig Overton, James Rew and Lewis Gregory.

The final award of the night was the Player of the Season Award which once again went to Tom Abell and was presented by Andy Hurry and Kate Ward from Cooper Associates.

The evening was officially closed by Club President, Peter Wanless before the Haus Band provided further entertainment.